Our partner

Losing connection with Sami

Dissociative Identity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Violarules, Johnny-Jack

Losing connection with Sami

Postby Floralie » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:25 pm

Things were going really well for a while, we got really close with Sami. I think that is like a starting point to how to get better, to be one with the part(s) who take care of safety. And he does good job, his ways are not outdated, he knows what's real and what's not, and when we can cope and when we can not without him stepping up.

I could not always feel him being there, but still felt how he feels about things, does that make sense? We learned to be one, so he can talk thru me, we use his feeling but my words. I started learning to keep boundaries because of that co-operation, which is one of the main problems, although it may not be evident from me. I don't know is it, in normal life I don't think it is, but that is because of how safe Sami has kept us, so no one had a chance to ever use me because I lacked boundaries. I could've been in ten different abusive relationships, but I have not, and it's because of him, not me myself.

It maybe wasn't so effortless and well done when we practised, but never the less hugely important. We cut out contact to our mom. It was not easy because she was the only one left we had to call and tell about everyday things, what's happened etc. and I miss that a lot. Things happens, but I don't have anyone to share them with. I won't go back to her because of it, I need to understand she is our traumatizer too and this is not just about me, there are parts I don't know but he does, and keeps them safe too. Sami thinks it was important, and I believe that.