Our partner

Making it work without therapy?

Borderline Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Echinacea, lilyfairy

Making it work without therapy?

Postby zbear » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:27 pm

Hello all!

I am new to this forum, so I am still getting the feel for how it works! :-)

I have a concern that I was wondering if anyone had experience with and could give me advice.

I was in therapy and on medication for a variety of diagnoses for the past 15 years. Unfortunately I no longer have access to health insurance, so I have been functioning without therapy or medication for the past 6 months. I was wondering if anyone had experience managing BPD without therapy? What worked for you?

Thanks!
zbear
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:08 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Making it work without therapy?

Postby patientxgreece » Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:51 pm

zbear wrote:Hello all!

I am new to this forum, so I am still getting the feel for how it works! :-)

I have a concern that I was wondering if anyone had experience with and could give me advice.

I was in therapy and on medication for a variety of diagnoses for the past 15 years. Unfortunately I no longer have access to health insurance, so I have been functioning without therapy or medication for the past 6 months. I was wondering if anyone had experience managing BPD without therapy? What worked for you?

Thanks!

I'm sorry to hear that! I guess you have been long enough in therapy so you know how to cope with borderline!! You just have to respond to your Schema, this little asshole in your mind who tells you you are defective. My therapist has given me those steps:
1. What would I tell my son/daughter if he/she were in a similar situation
2. What would my therapist tell me if I called him
3. What practical solutions are there even they seem impossible