Our partner

Fear of high voltage power lines

Specific Phobias message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Fear of high voltage power lines

Postby gihaedia » Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:40 pm

Believe it or not I got scared when I pass under high voltage power lines. This started when I was about 8. I try to avoid them whenever possible, and when I have to go under them I walk as fast as I can. I do not dare to look up before I'm sure I'm clear. When I'm not alone I can control this fear much better (so good that it's almost unnoticeable) , even when I'm with someone whom I don't trust. I think I'm mostly afraid of getting electrocuted from a cable that is too close to the ground, because this may have a connection to the fact that I'm blind on one eye and therefore I can't tell distance of an object.

I don't remember why and how I became afraid, and I'm probably the last person on Earth who should have such phobia. I studied physics so I have a good knowledge of electricity, and I also have a good understanding of engineering and safety involved in construction of power lines.
I work with electricity since I was 12 (all house repairs and more), I was shocked few times, and few times I had good chance of getting killed. Despite that I have no fear of electricity, I even touch live wires after making sure I'm properly insulated from the ground. Once when I was repairing an old TV I had to tune it while it was on. So I sat on one wooden chair and placed my legs on the other, and without fear plunged my fingers into 30 000 volts. My only fear here is getting burned in case of shorting out, but I also get this when working with angle grinder or arc welder, so it's not electricity, but hot sparks.