Our partner

I can't deal with being "hit on" *TW*

Open Discussions About Rape and Sexual Assault.

I can't deal with being "hit on" *TW*

Postby anon47 » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:24 am

This is my first time posting in this forum. I don't think I have the energy to go into great detail about my rape, but there's so many little things that built up to this incident..... But for now, I'm just looking for support and to see if I'm the only one who deals with this sort of "aftermath".

In a nutshell, I was drugged and raped by my cousin. It's been over 4 years since the incident, and I still struggle. If anything, I feel like I'm getting worse.

It was not a "violent" rape. Honestly, I think he wanted to see if I would "go for it" and raping me was a last resort. The red flags began popping up when he began commenting on what a "hot, cute girl" I was, amongst other highly inappropriate things. I politely, but firmly told him that I was uncomfortable with his comments. I pointed out that we were FAMILY and that he had a fiancé (who was in the other room, no less). I even went as far as telling him that I did not find him attractive (he literally looks like a pig). That's probably what put the nail in the coffin, because shortly after I blacked out. Yes, we were drinking. Big mistake. I rarely drink, and figured I was safe around family. Boy, was I wrong.

So...... Now, whenever anyone "hits on me" tells me I'm "hot" "attractive" even when I'm reffered to as a "woman" "girl" or "female" I immediately get flashbacks and basically prepare myself to fight for my life. I basically see certain keywords as a subliminal hint that the person is about to assault/rape me. I usually get very panicked when it's someone I don't know well. When someone I trust and know well compliments me, I don't necessarily fear them...... But it still triggers me. In those cases, I feel it is a reminder of what happened, and makes me feel responsible for the event and guilty.