Our partner

Thoughts on relating to people, intimately and in general.

Schizoid Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Thoughts on relating to people, intimately and in general.

Postby donbretheo » Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:13 pm

This is my first time posting. Hi.

I just had a lot on my mind last night, and I would appreciate some external input. I thought if there’s any hope of someone being able to relate to me, it would have to be other schizoids. I feel like I’m from another planet when I try explaining this people.

I’m having some relationship problems, which I’m not going to elaborate on, because you all know exactly what the issue is, when I say I’m diagnosed with SPD and in a long term relationship.

The subject isn’t so much anything specific going on in my personal life, I am just so frustrated with trying to understand myself and articulate what’s going on in my head. It might turn out to be a long rant, I hope somebody wants to read it and respond to some of my thoughts.

- Why can’t I connect emotionally to my partner?
- What is this wall between me and other people?
- What is it that makes me feel smothered in relationships?
- Why don’t I feel lonely/miss my partner when she’s gone?
- How can I explain this non-negotiable need for excessive alone time?

Simple explanations like "schizoids don't like/care about other people" is just not an answer. I’ve read here how other schizoids describe this inner/outer world split, and how their internal world seems more real to them than the external. For myself I can definitely say that being in my inner world is safe, predictable and comfortable, while having to relate to people in the “real world” generally feels unsafe, unpredictable and uncomfortable.