Our partner

Is my therapist violating ethics? What should I do?

Therapy message board, open discussion, and online support

Moderator: Wally58

Is my therapist violating ethics? What should I do?

Postby Inquirer » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:51 pm

I’m very confused about this so I really wanted the community’s advice on how to handle it.

I’ve been undergoing therapy for a couple of years now. The reasons that initially drove me to seek therapy were insomnia and stress, although the former quickly disappeared when I started full-time work. My therapist told me from the start that I do not have any “clinical” issue, but we still continued the therapy to explore my relationship with my parents, romantic partners, my existential concerns etc. I’ve found the process interesting and enlightening.

My therapist, a psychiatrist who is trained in psychodynamic psychotherapy (let’s call him Dr. Smith), was recommended to me by a female friend (let’s call her Vicky) who, at some point after I started therapy, became my girlfriend. Now, in the past, Dr. Smith was Vicky’s therapist for a year or so, but because Vicky faced financial problems and couldn’t pay his fee, he suggested that she continues her therapy with a psychologist he recommended, who was new at the job and charged far less. Let’s call the psychologist Ms. Jones.

So, here’s the problem. While seeing me as a client, Dr. Smith continued seeing Vicky (who was now my girlfriend) in concert with Ms. Jones. When I asked him whether this might be unethical or problematic for my or her therapy, he assured me that there’s no issue because he is not Vicky’s therapist and he only sees her to prescribe medication for her anxiety issues. I trusted his opinion, so we continued with the therapy.