Our partner

New to Therapy and Want to Know what to Expect

Counseling message board, open discussion, and online support group.

New to Therapy and Want to Know what to Expect

Postby LilyITV » Fri Sep 07, 2018 6:47 pm

I am new to therapy and am kind of confused about the process and what will happen.

My backstory: Since I was very young, I have been shy and withdrawn. I tend to avoid most social situations though I enjoy them sometimes. Sometimes I really fear/feel really uncomfortable in social situations. I can push through when I really want to, but my default seems to be to stay to myself. People seem to like me when I do interact but I feel terribly self conscious and have difficulty opening up to people. People often say I am literally the "quietest person they have ever met." I have virtually no friends and even with my husband and father, I have difficulty sharing my feelings. This behavior has held me back socially and profesionally.

I've had modest success academically and in my professional life. After a long-term unhealthy off-and-on relationship, I managed to get married and have two kids. I have long wondered whether I have social anxiety disorder or whether I'm just an introvert. So it's been easy for me to just proceed as if nothing is wrong but now at almost 44, I'm realizing that this is not who I am and I do need help to live life to my fullest. I dont' think I can call my parents abusive but my dad was extremely controlling and used what some may think is excessive corporal punishment. Both parents neglected my emotional needs and sometimes even punished me for displaying any kind of emotion. They loved me dearly though and I love them.

I took the plunge to see a therapist just recently. I went to get help with dealing with the stress of suddenly becoming a full-time stepmother. In that process I established a really good rapport with my therapist and now here I am dealing with my own issues.