Our partner

Going to a therapist - can't make the first step

Counseling message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Going to a therapist - can't make the first step

Postby LemonCake » Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:30 am

Hey everyone..

I'm 18 and I'm a freshman studying Medicine.
I moved out of my parents' apartment about a month ago. I'd like to see a therapist in order to discuss a couple of things about... me, because I feel different from other people. Different in a way that makes me look naive and dumb, easy to be fooled. I always feel like I'm on a ride on an emotional rollercoaster. And not only that.

One year ago, I asked my father to see a therapist. He was curious about my reasons for doing that, but I told him nothing. He accepted that. So I went to see this woman.. but I couldn't open up. I only sat on a chair for one hour without being able to tell her anything. She asked me a few questions, I answered them, but didn't feel like saying parts of my past. She gave me a list to complete with my qualities and weaknesses. And her phone number, to call her again. But of course, I never called for another appointment.
I'd like to see a therapist again, but I'm afraid of it. I am 300km away from home and I don't know whether I can afford going to a therapist or not. I'm afraid of telling my father about it, too. It's been getting worse lately and I feel hopeless.