Our partner

How has your life or your family been affected?

This forum is for studies & survey's that have been approved by forum staff.

How has your life or your family been affected?

Postby gillmaka » Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:13 pm

Hello Forum,

I am a college student writing a college research paper based on events in my life that have currently affected me and my family. My brother has been dealing with drug use, self mutilation, and depression for several years. He is seventeen years old. After going to my family and telling them that he was having suicidal thoughts, he was taken to the hospital for treatment. He was placed in a psychiatric ward, and was given the diagnosis of schizo-affective disorder. He was released after a week. Two months later, he was taken back to the hospital since his medicines were not helping his "voices", which he now says is simply his inner dialogue and doctors have removed his schizophrenic status.

This is a topic that I am struggling with. My family is currently in a very private state, and don't want to talk about it, nor do they want me to write this paper.

My question to all of you is, how has a schizophrenic diagnosis affected you or your loved ones? Or if you are a loved one, how has it affected your family? Do you lead your life just like what is considered "the norm", or do you feel that your/your loved one's diagnosis absolutely rocked your family's core? Was you/your loved one given a misdiagnosis or misdiagnosed multiple times?

As a note, I will be using responses in my research essay, but will not be including any sort of information that could identify you. I am not interested in personal information, simply your stories or observations relevant to your own personal experience.
gillmaka
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Sat Jul 11, 2020 5:53 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: How has your life or your family been affected?

Postby chaya449 » Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:18 pm