Our partner

Any ideas on how can I help my student?

Stuttering message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: seabreezeblue

Any ideas on how can I help my student?

Postby SweetAs » Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:01 pm

Hi everyone. I'm an English teacher in Japan and run a school with my wife. We help students with English from aged 5 up until high school. One of our students, a young 8-year old girl has real difficulty getting a sentence out. She tries really hard but stutters (quietly, almost under her breath) before eventually getting the sentence out, often in parts. She has always had a little trouble with speaking but in the last month or so it has gotten a lot worse. We have talked to the mother and she is aware of the problem but it's frustratingly difficult to find good mental/developmental health care in Japan at times. While I understand she will need help and training in her native tongue with a professional (I actually have a degree in psychology and counselling experience but this is a new one for me), I am wondering if there are any exercise I can do with her, recommend to the parents? I really want to help this little girl, I can see she is trying so hard but is frustrated at no being able to "get it out". Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

P.S. If it helps, the class she is in is small (4-5 students) and her older sister (10) takes the class too.
SweetAs
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:03 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Any ideas on how can I help my student?

Postby quietgirl2538 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:24 pm