Our partner

We need more research on stuttering

Stuttering message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: seabreezeblue

We need more research on stuttering

Postby Panov » Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:18 pm

First off, my name is Eugene. I have been a stutterer since I was six-years-old. I can actually remember my childhood where I didn't stutter at all.

My stutter became worse with every year and at times it seemed to improve and then get worse again. My life goal is to find a cure for stuttering and help the many people in the world who suffer from it daily. I have been doing research on the internet for many years in hope of answers but so far I have found none. I have had speech therapy in school but it did nothing more but get me away from class for an hour.

I have experimented with many drugs during my lifetime, from stimulants to hallucinogens hoping to find an answer with why I'm unable to speak the way that people without the disorder speak and the answer came to me when I tried the stimulant known as cocaine.

Cocaine supposedly boosts your dopamine levels sky high making you feel unstoppable. I noticed that whenever I speak to someone while on cocaine I have 100% fluency and it makes me feel more confident.

Is it possible that stutterers have low dopamine production in their receptors? I read an article with a hypothesis saying that we have way higher dopamine levels than usual but that doesn't make sense.

Also I'm sure most of you know that when you're talking to yourself out loud or with an animal you have 100% fluency. If it's a genetic trait why is it that we can achieve fluency by simply being alone or speaking with animals? We're no different than other people who talk more fluently.