Our partner

Blattodephobia - Fear of Roaches

Specific Phobias message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Blattodephobia - Fear of Roaches

Postby JellyBeanKruger » Tue May 31, 2011 4:27 am

Searched this forum and saw that there were only a couple of posts on this,
and that they were very old anyway.

Who has it? How common is it? Are there any success stories for y'all to share?
I am so tired of getting made fun of at work (I work in a retail store with a
bunch of teenagers)...

Any input would be much appreciated :)

-Courtney
JellyBeanKruger
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:07 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Blattodephobia - Fear of Roaches

Postby Chucky » Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 pm

Hey,

I'm replying because Ifear that no-one else will. I actually love cockroaches (I studied them briefly) but I an understand how a pesron could be fearful of them. Do you know when (and, better, why) your fear developed? For example, I'm claustrophic because many years ago when i was younger I was 'caught' in a kids' play tunnel thing, and it was dark.

Kevin
psychforums.com rules:
http://www.psychforums.com/forum-rules.php

Please send me a private message if you need help with anything.
Chucky
Consumer 6
Consumer 6

Local time: Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:07 am

Postby EarlGreyDregs » Tue May 31, 2011 9:20 pm

I'm replying, Chucky. :) I actually find phobias interesting.

Interesting, but not strange. Many people are disgusted by roaches. & When I say "many", I mean basically "all". I'm not downplaying your phobia, however. Obviously you would not have come here seeking help if it wasn't disrupting your life.

Do you get a lot of roaches in your retail store? Is that why they make fun of you? & I second what Chucky asked, is there anything in your past that could have produced this phobia? Usually there is a past trauma that creates a phobia.