Our partner

I'm afraid of men.

Specific Phobias message board, open discussion, and online support group.

I'm afraid of men.

Postby cpsp4207 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:01 am

I am not racist or prejudice, but native american men, mexican men and black men scare me the most, then all other races fall below that. I'm afraid of all men, but if there were a mexican man and a white man standing next to each other I'd be MORE afraid of the mexican man. I know where the fears come from, but not why I'm more afraid of one than the other.
I was raped and molested by my brother (who is white, as I am) for a long period of time when I was a pre-teen. Then later I was at a party and was molested by a black man. Then later when I worked as an electrician, any time we worked on new construction there were always mexican laborers there, and, being that I was usually the only woman on the job, they frequently 'cat called' me and made lewd remarks at me, which made me incredibly nervous. Aside from that I've never had any interaction with mexican men, so I'm not sure why I am so much more afraid of them. Now that I live in a different state, and there are pretty much no mexicans, the intense fear I had of the mexicans has been replaced by the native americans, as there weren't any where I was at growing up. Again, I've actually YET to have any interaction with the indians other than seeing them at the stores and around town, but I'm insanely afraid of them.