Our partner

Shoplifting as a result of trauma?

Forum for the discussion of Shoplifting Addiction and related behavior.

Moderator: NewSunRising

Shoplifting as a result of trauma?

Postby electraheart » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:01 pm

Hi! I've been kind of wandering around lots of forums on here, and I posted something about my PTSD earlier (here's to hoping that gets approved soon!). So anyways, I'm 16 years old and I think I have a shoplifting addiction? (I'm assuming that's pretty obvious since I'm posting in a shoplifting forum.)

I think my shoplifting addiction stems from my PTSD - or, at least, the trauma I went through to wind up with PTSD. I only started lifting towards the end of an abusive relationship around 9 months ago. Since then, I've been shoplifting pretty often. But I've noticed that I tend to lift more frequently and with greater quantities of stuff very shortly after a flashback/panic attack/whatever weird trauma stuff is even happening.

So it's got me wondering.. can something like this be triggered by PTSD (or, at least, trauma?) And has anyone else experienced anything like this?
I'm a minor. Please keep this in mind while interacting with me.
electraheart
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:54 am
Blog: View Blog (1)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Shoplifting as a result of trauma?

Postby Lisaemily1 » Wed Jul 08, 2015 3:11 pm

Hi. First I'd like to say I'm sorry for having this monkey on your back. I started shoplifting when I was four. You're starting now. I'm trying to get help, finally, although I'm 50 now and have been arrested 3 times. (Please try to get help now because you haven't been caught yet. You're safe. Like everyone else, you will eventually get caught). Therapy is hard to find because a lot of professionals don't know how to treat this and also there is so much shame associated with this it's hard to open up tomanyone about it let alone a stranger.