Our partner

Schizophrenia voices telling you they are real people

Schizophrenia message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Tyler

Schizophrenia voices telling you they are real people

Postby Bkaeliltehr » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:16 am

Hi everyone I just wanted to share my story and experience with schizophrenia to see if anyone can relate.

In May 2015 I had my first psychotic episode while I was at work. I was working as a barista and had little sleep the night before. I started to hear my roommates voice tell me he was going to kill me if I didn't pay the rent I owed the last month I lived with them. I didn't have the money and my roommates knew that I couldn't pay it. I started hearing their voices that morning and thought they were out to kill me because I didn't pay the rent. I worked in a hospital lobby espresso bar and as soon as I heard my roommates voice tell me he had a gun I freaked out and locked myself in a room in the hospital till the ambulance came and brought me to a different hospital. I was believing my roommates were telling me to pay the rent or I would die. I kept hallucinating and imagining my roommate with a gun ready to shoot me when he was no where near me that day. I was released from the hospital that night. The next morning I asked my roommates if that was him I was hearing and he started laughing and responded saying "no but I did have a doctor's appointment that day". Because he was laughing and couldn't keep a straight face when I asked him I was suspicious that he was responsible for the voice I heard in my head. I lived with two roommates who were brothers for 6 months while in college and never had any arguments with them. The day I had my episode I heard both of their voices playing with my mind about the unpaid rent. The voices were telling me that I was going to get arrested and the government was after me but I knew these voices sound a lot like my roommates and the voice told me it was my roommates to