Our partner

Has anyone improved with therapy?

Reactive Attachment Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Has anyone improved with therapy?

Postby sadegirl » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:09 pm

Hi everyone! I'm new to this particular forum, and believe I have avoident dismissive reactive disorder, with a very small portion of fearful avoident.
I haven't had therapy for this problem specifically but plan to... But I'm wondering if there's much hope...? I'm so out of touch with my emotions that I feel like I have to pretend to love somebody, or sometimes feel like I should force myself to stay in a relationship to get over my problem. But sooner than later, I get an overpowering need for independence, and anxiety (I'm not usually a very anxious person but intimacy and being in a relationship affect me, because i can't connect on an emotional level. When i was a kid I suppressed my feelings to stop feeling pain and be strong, and now I don't know where they are...
So is there hope for actually feeling emotions again? Or is there only hope in modifying behavior with others, and continuing pretending?
sadegirl
Consumer 2
Consumer 2

Local time: Wed Feb 24, 2021 5:59 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Has anyone improved with therapy?

Postby pistils » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:31 am

sade-

You and I have different conditions, so forgive me if I make irrelevant observations. But some of what you say resonates, so I'd like to respond.

and being in a relationship affect me, because i can't connect on an emotional level. When i was a kid I suppressed my feelings to stop feeling pain and be strong, and now I don't know where they are...