Our partner

Unsure of what to think

Open Discussions About Rape Trauma Syndrome.

Unsure of what to think

Postby BelleIdds » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:55 am

I'm very new to this and just feel like I need to ge this off my chest. It's been almost a year and I feel silly for still dwelling on it. I don't mean to dwell but it makes it difficult when I have the same nightmare every night. I was raped by an old aquaintance and it really took me by surprise. I haven't told anyone about it and I thought that I would have been over it by now but I think it's getting worse. I feel nauseas all the time and all it takes is someone to smell like him for me to re live it all in my head. I work all the time and don't have spare time to see a professional, I feel silly for even thinking that I should see someone. I just want to feel strong and in control but I don't, I'm trying to be tough.
This probably all sounds so over the top, I'm sorry if I seem like a weakling I don't mean to whinge I know others have it a lot worse.
BelleIdds
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:02 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Unsure of what to think

Postby avatar123 » Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:57 am

Belle, I'm sorry that this happened, and also that no one responded sooner to your post. You aren't weak or over the top or whining, this was a serious incident and the symptoms you describe are very common elements of PTSD. It's not at all surprising that you would have them.