Our partner

Online Therapy

Psychotherapy message board, open discussion, and online support group.
Forum rules
We are not professionals on this site, nor are any of the members. Always consult with your physician or other doctor about any type of medications.

Online Therapy

Postby JJ86 » Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:40 am

Hi everyone.

I've decided to try online therapy to help me with my severe dental phobia and anxiety. I'm not really sure what to expect, as I've never tried it before.

I'm hopeful that it will help. I'm also glad that I'm now working with a new dentist who is compassionate and gentle. He understands what I'm going through with my phobia and anxiety and he's very patient with me. I hope in time we will build a trusting relationship. Right now I'm having a hard time trusting him due to my past bad experiences with other dentists. I want to trust him, but something in my mind is holding me back.

I'm wondering if anyone on here has ever tried online therapy and how it worked for them.

The site I'm using is a not real time messaging site where you can leave messages/posts any time of day or night for your therapist and they can reply back to you whenever they're able to. They try to reply back as soon as possible and don't usually go more than 24 hours without replying.

There is also options for phone call sessions or video chat sessions for an extra fee. I don't feel comfortable with these and I'll only be using the messaging feature.

The nice thing is that the first week (7 days) are free. There is no limit to how many times you and your therapist can talk during the day or week.

I'm hopeful, but nervous about this.

Anyone who has input on this please share.

Thank you.

JJ
JJ86
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:46 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Online Therapy

Postby girly » Tue May 03, 2016 1:26 pm