Our partner

This week in therapy... (kinda long)

Psychotherapy message board, open discussion, and online support group.
Forum rules
We are not professionals on this site, nor are any of the members. Always consult with your physician or other doctor about any type of medications.

This week in therapy... (kinda long)

Postby WantToEscapeIt » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:05 pm

Hey all, I'm new here!

For a little background: I saw this T for 2 years while in high school. I usually went in and we sat in silence. I was there because my mother told me to be there. I did have issues with depression and self-harm, but I didn't discuss them. I stopped seeing her when I graduated high school.

Flash forward two years: I have been struggling with pushing my feelings aside since leaving therapy. It eventually got to be too much and I started to self-harm again. I also decided to start seeing the same therapist again. I was teary the minute I sat down in the chair. She again diagnosed me with depression with OCD tendencies, anxiety, etc. etc. We met 6 times and then she went on a 2.5 week vacation.

During her vacation I met with one of her coworkers in the office. My second appointment with her, I was having a rough week. I had self-harmed at least 7 times in a week. I curled up and started to dissociate, as I often do in therapy. The stand in T had me create a collage. It was dark. It was deep. As soon as I looked at the finished product I broke down.