Our partner

OCD diagnosis and remission??

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Snaga

OCD diagnosis and remission??

Postby twisted.fate » Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:38 am

Hello! I'm a newbie here and just found this forum.

I have a question and just want to get others' opinions because I can't seem to figure this out myself. So please excuse my rambling...which I know I'm going to do to get this stuff off my chest.

I believe I have OCD, and in fact have had it for years now. However I have never been formally diagnosed or treated. And part of the reason for that is because I had an early onset age (symptoms began when I was around 10-11). I was never very close with my parents and lived with relatives for most of my childhood. And I used to have a total inferiority complex when it came to my parents, so I was too embarrassed to tell them my problems. And naturally they never noticed my less than happy mental disposition despite being doctors (sorry =P..... still a little bitter at times even though i've mostly gotten over it...haha). I didn't know what OCD was until high school, and let's just say there's very little doubt as to whether or not I have it. Things such as touching every street lamp on the way home from school, opening and closing my bedroom room at least 30 times before bed, going up and down the stairs in the dark repeatedly so I can circle into the kitchen to check the stove lights...etc. are some of my wonderful quirks.