Our partner

Cousin of NPD seeks advice

Narcissistic Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: mark1958, Echinacea, realityhere

Cousin of NPD seeks advice

Postby CanadianCousin32 » Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:28 pm

Hello there,

This is my first time posting in a forum like this but I have a situation with a family member officially diagnosed with NPD and I want to approach it as thoughtfully as possible. I do not consider myself a victim in this situation but I am starting to ask myself if there is any point trying to help him or if I need to change my angle. If I do cut him off I want to know that I did everything possible to avoid that.

The person in question is my cousin, 'Ted', who I reestablished contact with last year when his father was dying. I had seen him every few years as a kid but I was older and we weren't really close. Ted's father was a wealthy alcoholic who never said 'no' to him and spoiled him endlessly. He had incredibly expensive toys, entertainment systems, and cars. He now feels entitled to a lifestyle he can't afford. Our other family members see him as a bad seed, whereas I feel like I would have turned out that way if I were raised in those conditions, so I feel sad for him. He clearly grew up with a combination of extreme material indulgence and emotional deprivation on account of his family dysfunction and this is how he turned out this way. I am very angry at his parents for allowing this to happen but that doesn't solve anything he is dealing with now. Ted told me that he had a therapist treating him for NPD but that he left therapy because this man was allegedly trying to psychologically harm him.