Our partner

How Can I Stop Being A Perfectionist

Open Discussions about how Mental Illness affects your life.

Moderator: Otter

*****PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE POSTING HERE*****

When posting on Psychforums.com please try to pick the forum you think best fits your post. If your post would fit in a specialized forum (there are more than 100 forums here) then please post there rather than in the "Living With Mental Illness" forum. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Moderators could move your thread without notice if they feel it is fitting better into another forum.

The Mod Team

How Can I Stop Being A Perfectionist

Postby DwayneA » Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:37 pm

I'll admit that I'm a bit of a perfectionist. I feel that I have to succeed the first time I try at something. I'm not very good at dealing with criticism. Nor am I adept at handling failure. This applies to all aspects of my life. Whether I'm cooking a meal for myself, baking a treat for myself, writing something, or even in gaming. In fact, I feel that everything in my day has to go right, otherwise I get upset and stay that way for the rest of the day. If I have nothing else to do during the day, and it's almost dark, I just crawl into bed. And sometimes, it carries over the next day, even after a twelve hour sleep. These days, I'm feeling bored, getting sleepy even in the early afternoon!