Our partner

Realizing You Have Mental Illness

Open Discussions about how Mental Illness affects your life.

Moderator: thegentlepath

*****PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE POSTING HERE*****

When posting on Psychforums.com please try to pick the forum you think best fits your post. If your post would fit in a specialized forum (there are more than 100 forums here) then please post there rather than in the "Living With Mental Illness" forum. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Moderators could move your thread without notice if they feel it is fitting better into another forum.

The Mod Team

Realizing You Have Mental Illness

Postby Stephen87 » Tue Oct 27, 2020 3:57 pm

Hello people,

This is my first time posting on a mental health forum. I am reaching out because I really feel like I am in a lonely helpless place. For me, and probably many others, the virus has made my life much more isolated. As I get older my family gets further apart and that it is making my illness worse.

I guess the topic of this post, is how did you feel when you finally realized, or accepted, the cold hard truth that you may have a moderate mental illness? Something that is at least disabling and causes distress in your life? Maybe it ruined your finances, relationships, friends, family or physical health? I have always been in denial of mental health issues out of self preservation. If I accept that I am damaged, I feel desperate and hopeless. Seeing what my mother went through was terrifying. I know my cognitive bias must change.