Our partner

Question

Open Discussions about how Mental Illness affects your life.

Moderator: quietgirl2538

*****PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE POSTING HERE*****

When posting on Psychforums.com please try to pick the forum you think best fits your post. If your post would fit in a specialized forum (there are more than 100 forums here) then please post there rather than in the "Living With Mental Illness" forum. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. Moderators could move your thread without notice if they feel it is fitting better into another forum.

The Mod Team

Question

Postby ducksback » Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:52 am

Hi, I just have a quick question.....

I'm a second year college student. I'm straight A and love to learn. But I don't respond well to stress. I've always easily gotten disassociated. Almost to easily. I don't talk to psychologists or even my family, whom I have great relationships with, so I'm going anonymously on here.

I've always easily gotten disassociated, normally in periods of stress- any type of stress (trips, schoolwork, etc.) Anytime I'm disassociated I tend to think a little more paranoid but I think that's normal. My question is:

What is this? Since around April, about when my second semester at college started getting more stressful, I started to slip. Oddly not that much cognitively (I was still able to do advanced math and problem solving) but very much emotionally. I started to suspect certain teachers and people were against me. Now I didn't really believe that, but a portion of my mind refused to accept any other possibility-- this illogical conclusion had to be possible.

Throughout the last few weeks of semester, I started having unserious suicidal thoughts. Those waxed/waned depending on whether or not I thought I had less or more work to do, respectively.