Our partner

Restless hands

Impulse-Control Disorder NOS message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Restless hands

Postby Nul » Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:58 am

Hello,
I'm not sure if this is the right board, but I read that this kind of behaviour is often linked to anxiety or OCD, so I chose this. Let me know if you think this thread belongs elsewhere.

Quick intro: I'm male, 30, and I was never diagnosed any disorder or health issue, nor I think I ever had one. I did and still do display some features of schizoid personality disorder, and I'm an INTJ according to MBTI. In life I'm a material scientist and work in a lab. I also sleep very little and I have some sleep apnea, so sleep deprivation may also be causing this (but I've always experienced some degree of restless hands way before this anyways).

This said, I often find my hands to be... restless. I always have to be doing something with them, I can't stay put. Some examples:
1) If I have any piece of paper in my hands, I'll start folding it in many possible shapes without even noticing. This happens very often with receipts. They just happen to be in my hands and I fold them over and over until they are destroyed.
2) If I have a pen in my hands, I either disassemble and reassemble it, or I doodle a lot (as in, I fill entire pages with stars or hexagons made of many triangles). This happens everywhere, even on top of important notes I was taking.
3) If I have a piece of metal or flexible material, I will abuse it until it's unusable. Paper clips get bent so many times that eventually they break, while rubberbands get entangled until they snap.
4) If I have a phone in my hands with a plastic cover, I keep taking the cover on and off. it's the clicking or "setting in place" that does the trick. If there is no protective cover, then I start doing that with the battery cover. I like the clicking. But this in turn made my old phone's battery cover so loose that it'd come off all the time.