Our partner

My mum is a hypochondriac, I don't know what to do anymore.

Hypochondriasis message board, open discussion, and online support group.

My mum is a hypochondriac, I don't know what to do anymore.

Postby PuppyDog3 » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:33 am

Hi, I have a mother who my whole life has always been sick, always had a cold that is 10x worse than anything we ever had and always had, something that was always potentially killing her. And honestly it's effecting my mental state. I'm currently in my last semester of university and I'm finding it hard to know what to do next as my mothers is completely in denial that she is a hypochondriac...

she completely believes that at the moment our family house (that was newly built in 2009) is killing us from toxic mould.... her symptoms are the same symptoms that have been brought up my whole life that are "killing" her, usually to do with her stomach and cognitive abilities. She has been to multiple doctors and she has even asked to have every single test possible to determine what is wrong with her and her results every time come back that she is fine and healthy. Keep in mind that this is only the most recent illness that I'm mentioning. One doctor even told her that she needs to calm down and just be greatful that she is healthy at the moment. That did not go down well... she has since been trying to google those docotors to determine which universities they graduated from, as she believes all docotors in our community are unqualified because they won't diagnose her with anything.