Our partner

the therapist who is a mental health survivor

Hope, Healing and Coping.

the therapist who is a mental health survivor

Postby ariaQuin » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:18 pm

Hello,

Are there psychologists/psychiatrists here who are survivors of severe mental health conditions?
If yes, when did you speak up about your condition/s? Did you experience any discrimination or were you judged to be inadequate (as a mental health professional) because of it?

For others, what's your perception on mental health professionals who had or have (but are successfully managed) psychological disorders?

I'm currently taking my masters in clinical psychology. More than a decade ago, I was also diagnosed with BPD comorbid with MDD, among other things. I've had a lot of struggles and relapsed so many times. I'm still learning and continuously working on/with myself. However, with the guidance of my mentors and therapists, I sincerely believe that I'm at the right track and am now in a much better place than where I used to be.

I live in a poor, developing country in Asia where mental health disorders are still highly stigmatized and treatments for some 'complicated' disorders, such as mine, are not readily (if any) available. I'm building up my courage so I can speak up and decide to pursue further studies. I hope to study, train overseas, and then go back to my country. Hoping that by doing so, I'll be able to help those who are like me.

I know that it won't be easy and I'm ready to face the challenges. However, it will be nice to hear the stories of those who are able to overcome/manage/embrace/live with/transcend their conditions and are now using their voices to give back to the community.
ariaQuin
Consumer 1
Consumer 1

Local time: Tue Jun 22, 2021 2:40 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: the therapist who is a mental health survivor

Postby shock_the_monkey » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:40 pm