Our partner

Introducing Myself + Rambling Way Too Much

Dissociative Identity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Snaga, NewSunRising, lilyfairy

Introducing Myself + Rambling Way Too Much

Postby ethanthealien » Sat Jun 25, 2022 5:41 am

Hello! I go by the name Ethan (this is not my legal name), I'm in my early 20s and I use he/him and they/them pronouns - all of these things are us as a collective.

We aren't diagnosed yet, as we do not have a means of getting a diagnosis, but we've been questioning being a system for well over I think two years now? It's kind of ridiculous seeing how far I have come in questioning and learning and I am still quite new to figuring us out. I've never used chat forums - I used to try in the past a couple times, but I was just never interested. I'm hoping to use this place for good this time.

I started questioning I think in 2020 or 2021; I wanna say... Late 2020-early 2021? Since then, I have been learning lots and lots about myself, DID/OSDD, trauma and dissociation in general, I could ramble on for hours about my journey haha.

For now, I'm reminiscing on how wrong my view of DID was. I mean, pretty much everyone is like this at the start because of the portrayal of DID and whatnot. I used to expect some kind of outside entity to possess my body, or I'll wake up to find hours of messages of conversations with my friends that I had no memory of. I remember people telling me to journal and I found it confusing and frustrating because I'd tell them I don't experience blackouts, so how can I tell if I've switched? I was expecting to experience alters like some kind of ghosts that haunt me :lol: I remember feeling frustrated that no alters were showing themselves... I really was expecting to experience some kind of ghost possession.