Our partner

Father in denial?

Dissociative Identity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Violarules, Johnny-Jack

Father in denial?

Postby Zor » Sat May 23, 2020 2:26 pm

So the other day I (Zor) did a thing online I've been doing for about 2 years, more or less a co-host of a religious discussion series. My father watched it... and at the end the host who runs the show noted I'd be absent a few months, and I told the audience that I'll be back after I get some personal things taken care of that's taking a lot of time, but everything is ok.

10 Mins later my father calls... asking what's going on, if I'm ok, etc. So I tell him "Yeah, it's good. Just need some time to deal with some dissociative struggles and issues." He was clueless. Acted like he had NO IDEA what was going on. I've told my mother, we've talked several times about it, she's talked (once) to Pixie, and even sent Pixie & the girls a box of cute & pretty ankle socks. My parents KNOW. In fact, I asked some rather... pointed... questions early on to confirm some things from nightmares, others (in system) comments about fears and memories, and Mom confirmed them... Later she backtracked off part of what she'd confirmed b/c "Your father and I talked and he says that could not have happened, we would have never let you be hurt that way." And gave a nonsense "we were always right there" excuse.

So I KNOW he knows... Yet on the phone, he acted like he had NO IDEA what I was talking about. He just sort of changed the subject when I tried to explain by saying the dissociative stuff is why I am seeing the doc every few weeks, or weekly when needed.

It was really... awkward.
(Body - Male, 39)
Zor - primary host & main poster
The rest of us: {\Pixie/}, Kaitie-Lynn (aka "Kitten"), Kaleb, Angel, Katya, Satin, Charles, Chloe, Noah, and a few rarely seen
Zor
Consumer 6
Consumer 6

Local time: Fri May 29, 2020 8:17 am
Blog: View Blog (1)

ADVERTISEMENT