Our partner

Hello! From A Newly Discovered System

Dissociative Identity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Violarules

Hello! From A Newly Discovered System

Postby oldsoulvocalist » Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:54 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to all of this, so I'm still going to be using language that's pretty singular in nature, as I'm still navigating having a system, comfortably presenting myself as such, and the like.

Anyway, I've struggled a great deal with mental health throughout my life, I've been diagnosed with about a dozen mental illnesses (pretty much none of them were accurate or helpful, especially not in conjunction with each other). After many years of questioning what I've heard from external sources, I spent a solid year invested in research, introspection, and self-discovery. I spent a big part of my time looking through the lens of C-PTSD in relation to my mental health, as that seemed closest to my experience. Recently (as in the past few months), I've spent time investigating the "fragmented sense of self" associated with it. I looked into my past very intently, as well as observing my behavior and actions throughout this year or so, and I found a lot of things I couldn't explain with the knowledge that I had. I had lapses in memory, clear times when I'd dissociated into amnesic states and come back into consciousness to find things changed in ways that I thought I could never change them. The more I looked into my past, the more I found that I didn't have an explanation for that resonated with me, but it made me more curious.