Our partner

genetics?

Conversion Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

genetics?

Postby behappy238 » Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:04 am

Does anyone know if CD has genetic markers? I have a 15 year old who has ADHD and suffers with Depression. I have the same dx, but last week I finally put a name to what happened to me 20 years ago! I also have an 11 year old with Bipolar. Both my husband and I have mental illness in our family.

Like so many of you, I basically woke up one day (17 years old) and lost the feeling in both my legs. I was taken to the hospital, spinal tap, scans, etc...stayed there for a week. Then I "got better". The Dr's said it was a virus. 3 months later I graduated high school and immigrated to America. It was never mentioned again. I am a firm believer in therapy and in a quest to understand my "normal" upbringing, I have come to realize that I was suffering with depression in High School and actually struggled with learning disabilities too. I have told my children that what I believe happened to me was my bodies way of shutting down, of not being able to cope, and therefor I listen to, and believe them when they tell me something is going on - no matter what. So last week I was in a mental health seminar and the psychiatrist answered a question about Conversion Disorder (never heard of it) and of course I feel like I had a text book case.