Our partner

I use distractions to avoid moving on in my life

Conduct Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: seabreezeblue

I use distractions to avoid moving on in my life

Postby indecompulsive » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:19 pm

I was an exculpatory student early in life, recognized by TIP, a talent identification program sponsored by Truman University; I had scholarship opportunities arriving in 7th grade. I started drinking around age 11 and by freshman year of high school had tried a large array of drugs, mostly psychedelic in nature. At the time, and even now some, I felt as though they expanded my awareness and evolved my "outside of the box" thinking. I dropped out of high school at 16 because I had once again gotten caught with drugs on school property. My principal at the time actually recommended I drop out because I had a far below average attendance, expulsions etc. but yet maintained a GPA near the top of my class. He proposed I was bored and that college would be challenging and exciting for me and quite possibly turn my life around. Between college and the legal issues I had to deal with, it did. For awhile.