Our partner

Questions about avolition

Cognitive Disorder NOS message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Questions about avolition

Postby Rockin1980 » Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:20 pm

I just found out about Avolition the other day. Had never heard about it before but I think I suffer from it.

I'm a 36 year old man. I haven't had a job in almost a year, I'm broke, can barely afford food and have been relying on my parents for help. Almost every job I've had in life I sort of stumbled upon or they were offered by a friend or acquaintance. I never really pursued anything in my life and have spent long periods doing nothing. I was also a poor student in high school, especially in Math. In college I did better because I majored in Journalism and I've always been good with words, concepts, structure and languages.

I currently spent my days in my sofa, alone, reading stuff online or watching movies and tv shows. I do feel guilty about it...I do feel angry sad and guilty but on most days those feelings are very mild. I don't spend my days crying or breaking stuff. It's a very understated sadness due to loneliness and feeling worthless. Suicidal thoughts are constantly in my mind because I look outside and I don't see how I fit. I don't see a place for me in the world.

I also talk by myself. Often times, when I'm feeling overwhelmed with thoughts, I feel the need to pretend someone is in front of me (it could be my parents, a friend or a therapist) and I "role play" a conversation. I've been doing this for ages, since I was in my early 20's. I don't hear another voice and I don't see anybody in front of me: I role play, as if I was an actor. I would much rather write these thoughts down but, for some reason, I don't have the urge to write. I have the urge to talk, to vocalise these thoughts.