Our partner

Dealing with Trauma from Neglect

Open Discussions About Child Abuse

Moderators: seabreezeblue, quietgirl2538, Terry E.

Forum rules
You are entering a forum that contains discussions of abuse, some of which are explicit in nature. The topics discussed may be triggering to some people. Please be aware of this before entering this forum.

Dealing with Trauma from Neglect

Postby hopey » Fri May 04, 2018 2:06 pm

I'm in my first year of college, and a couple months ago I had a severe mental breakdown because I realized I was severely emotionally and verbally abused and severely physically and emotionally neglected. And that it was all unnecessary. I had grown up thinking that everything that was happening was normal, because my parents would tell me that I had caused it or that it was normal and that every family isn't perfect. My dad would scream at us almost every night over the littlest things, like one night because there was a dirty pan in the cabinet he screamed at us and told us that we were lucky he even fed us and that we were lucky he loved us. There were days where we didn't have food in our house, not because we couldn't afford it, but because he just didn't want to grocery shop for us. Or we wouldn't have dinner because he didn't feel like making it, and this was happening as far back to when i was six. If the littlest thing happened he would scream at us and then send us to our rooms for hours on end. And if he wasn't yelling at us, he usually would just stay in his room, and we weren't allowed to come in. But he would walk into our rooms and sometimes even search our stuff when we weren't home. I would be left in places waiting for hours for him to come pick me up after afterschool activities, even though we lived five minutes away.