Our partner

career story...

Borderline Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: lilyfairy

career story...

Postby jaus tail » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:58 pm

what's ur career story?

i was an engineer, then into writing job, then into engineering(quit one school masters germany) then teaching (quit that) then back to writing (wrote novel), then again engineering (did masters) and its exhausting...

its like i cant figure out what to do with my career...

what about you? how do u become stable/content with where you are?
exhausted
jaus tail
Consumer 6
Consumer 6

Local time: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:34 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: career story...

Postby Remember Ronni » Mon Jan 20, 2020 8:01 pm

I qualified as a lawyer in my 20s and worked for 25 years as a lawyer dealing with family issues - child protection, domestic violence and divorce. Fun, fun ;)

If you were trying to slot me into a category with the BPD it would be high functioning quiet borderline. My Mum and my brother both suffer from mental health issues which I believe are BPD related. My parents marriage was ugly (words not anything like violence or drugs). I became an expert at dysfunctional families and very often found myself defending me or rather someone who had been hurt or abused by someone they cared about.

My therapist laughed when I told her what I did for a living. I reminded her that as someone with BPD I am an expert at broken relaationships

My mental health started to deterirate - a combination of a serious relationship that fell apart and a mother who likes to reject me spectacualrly just when I ever needed her. I continued to work but then my physical health went downhill too. And I just gave up. I can't see myself ever working again now. I have to say it's quite a relief not to have to listen to any more "he said, she said" stories. It was getting kind of old.

But that's my story, for what it's worth.....