Our partner

Fear of abandonment

Borderline Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: lilyfairy

Fear of abandonment

Postby professionals21 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:42 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been a lurker for years but absolutely feel the need to post seeking your advice. First, I've come to realize I experience intense, asexual crushes; this has been going on since I was a middle school student, and has nearly always been with me. The highs in the beginning of the crush stages are absolutely delightful, and I don't want anything else when I find *that* person. I become on cloud nine thinking about the person, my overall mood improves, I get out and exercise, etc. And the best way I can describe how I feel for the person is being infatuated with them, 100% loyal and willing to stand up for them, but not really feeling interest in them sexually. It is possible that what I'm about to ask also applies even if you do feel for them sexually, but in my case, over the course of the last several years, my crushes have always been of the same gender as me, and been asexual desires. It likely stems from my not feeling desires for anyone sexually at all, so for me, having these types of crushes is the equivalent of what people feel for sexual crushes -- just without the intimacy, if you will.