Our partner

BPD vs HPD: "Attention Seeking" On Social Media

Borderline Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Echinacea, lilyfairy

BPD vs HPD: "Attention Seeking" On Social Media

Postby xXDarkStarXx » Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:14 am

Hey guys, I'm sorry if this post comes off as offensive and I'm not meaning for it to be. I am no doctor but to me, it seems like some BPD people could easily be misdiagnosed and truly be HPD. I was diagnosed with BPD but I cannot relate to most of the Borderlines on social media because of strong emphasis put on the attention seeking "symptom."

I understand that "attention seeking" is a BPD trait but how come when it comes to a lot of people on Twitter and Facebook that "attention seeking" seems to be their main trait? If that is the case, you might as well jus tcall them HPD since that is the main trait of those. For me, my BPD is about being left and intense emotions..not seeking attention although I do seek it from guys I have crushes on and at times when I am feeling severely depressed..but I don't seek it through my looks.

For example: Someone will say their boss yelled at them and they're having a bad day and they will say, "Cheer me up?" then proceed to post a selfie. Then people will be in the comments telling them they are gorgeous and etc.

I find it annoying and I don't understand this kind of behavior because if you had a bad day due to someone screaming at you, wouldn't it cheer you up if they told you something to help you deal with criticism or being yelled at? But instead the comments that actually talk about that get ignored while the ones praising their looks get "likes" and "loves."