Our partner

Restricting calories as a form of self-destructive behavior?

Borderline Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Echinacea, lilyfairy

Restricting calories as a form of self-destructive behavior?

Postby cirkusrat » Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:04 pm

Good evening and thanks in advance to those out there who might take some time of theirs to read this post.
I'm wondering if anyone else on here is doing or has done this too? It's about self-destructive behavior caused by BPD. For me, it varies which "method" of self-harm/self-destructive behavior I turn to in order to try and soothe the inner chaos and emptiness and pain etc.. But a method I keep returning to is restricting my calorie intake. I have done this before and currently am, and I have been doing this for about two months or so at this point of time. I think one of the reasons I keep returning to this unhealthy pattern is that I know it will eventually harm myself. A great big part of my BPD is the craving of attention, care and love from others, and I'm convinced I can only receive these things by being physically ill. I define the worth or right to receive attention/love/care of people by their physical condition. I've done various unhealthy things to myself before in order to become physically ill (smoking, not taking medications to treat pneumonia, making sure I feel cold, etc.) and thus get attention and care from others, but the thing is, I can't be 100% sure if they will work. Whereas, when I'm eating way too less calories during a longer period, I know it will eventually make me physically ill, weaken my immune system and thereby make me more prone to catching infections, which again will be able to fill my inner emptiness and make me feel that I'm good enough and have the right to get attention and be taken care of. Also, I think I might get attention or that others might notice me and look at me and worry about me if I'm very skinny. And I bel