Our partner

On punishment

Open discussion on BDSM
Forum rules
================================================

The BDSM Forum is now closed for new posts. It is against the Forum Rules to discuss BDSM as the main topic of a post anywhere at PsychForums.

================================================

You are entering a forum that contains discussions of a sexual nature, some of which are explicit. The topics discussed may be offensive to some people. Please be aware of this before entering this forum.

On punishment

Postby Callalily » Tue Sep 15, 2015 3:08 pm

Hello all,

I still find the concept of discipline a bit nebulous. I've seen it debated fiercely in other places and I'm wondering what everyone's thoughts are here. I am still very new to BDSM, so forgive me if I sound ignorant, and please feel free to correct any misconceptions that I have. :)

So obviously, in traditional BDSM, there are "scenes" in which the Dom tops the Sub for no other reason than their mutual sexual pleasure. These often involve restraint, physical pain, restriction, humiliation, sensory deprivation and other things that a vanilla person would probably consider "negative." For a masochistic submissive, however, they are pleasurable acts. For example, spanking: this is something that many Doms and Subs enjoy and are aroused by. Which means it's not a punishing act in a BDSM context; if anything, it's a reward.