Our partner

Introduction and greetings from the UK

Avoidant Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: lilyfairy

Introduction and greetings from the UK

Postby Scottishguy » Sat Nov 23, 2019 4:50 pm

Hello everyone,

I wanted to write a quick introduction to you all. I've been intending to post an intro. on this forum for a couple of years. But somehow I've always managed to talk myself out of it... (Anyone else been here?)
I've read several posts on here I can really relate to.
So here goes:

Hello!

I'm 38 years old, male and I live in Scotland. I've recently returned to working in mental health (not as a professional, I hasten to add) after 3 years of being unemployed.
Working again is really rewarding, but I find the social demands are a bit overwhelming. I'm ok in meetings and facilitating groups, but I really struggle with one-to-ones and meeting new people.

I find the most difficult thing is trying to judge tone, content and just what to say to people.
Eek! I find it a challenge to know what to include, what's relevant and what people actually need to know.
Writing this intro being a good example; I find emails and writing are even harder than face-to-face meetings. I constantly write drafts and then delete them, or save them without sending them.

Mostly I just constantly fear upsetting people, inconveniencing them, boring them or impinging on their privacy. (I can't think of a better way to describe it, but I'm sure there is a clearer more concise way.)
So I keep on trying, I keep on writing, going in to work and worrying about all the things I need to do that I haven't managed to face up to yet.

What am I so afraid of? Disapproval, rejection, criticism, making mistakes, being laughed at, yelled, failing to do my job properly or becoming too unwell to work again.

What I wanted to ask is about people's awareness and acceptance of anxiety?
I find it really difficult to notice when I'm nervous.