Our partner

Am I autistic? Please help.

Autism message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Am I autistic? Please help.

Postby hatelife888 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 9:09 pm

I am a 22 year old man that has just graduated from college. Recently I have begun thinking that I may be suffering with high-functioning autism. I was born very prematurely and barely spoke as a child. I was so anxious I didn't want to speak to anyone. As I grew older into high school I was labeled as the shy quiet kid because socializing was unbearable to me. I have never felt comfortable socially, I never know what to say, how to convey my thoughts, or what is socially appropriate. I never feel relaxed around other people. In college I tried to branch out a bit but by my senior year I was a complete loner and exhausted. Getting assignments done was so hard for me and managing my time and energy was nearly impossible. Somehow I graduated. I always feel like there is this wall between me and everyone else. I cannot get close to other people and it has become very taxing on me. I have been to countless therapists and on antidepressants to treat my "depression" and "anxiety" but nothing has ever improved.