Our partner

Potential ASD or personality disorder

Autism message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Potential ASD or personality disorder

Postby Qwertyuiop_16 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:53 am

Hello,

My name is Tyler, I am 18, I am a freshman at a respected engineering school, and I think there is a possibility that I have some form of autism or a personality disorder. What started as "feeling different", or as though I was on the outside looking in, during my childhood transitioned into struggling with interpersonal/romantic relationships throughout adolescence and my late teen years. I foresee this to be something that has the potential to complicate my career and jeopardize my chances of being happy and emotionally stable during my adult life. In order to adequately put my concerns into context, I'll share with you examples of my struggles and things/experiences that I believe could've contributed to them.

When I was very young, I appeared highly cognitively advanced. I could recognize patterns well, math came very easily, I thought very logically, and I had a seemingly never-ending curiosity about the world around me. I spent a lot of time with puzzles and toys that involved logic and/or spatial reasoning. However, my emotional/social development "needed improvement" according to my preschool teacher. My father recalls that I showed little interest in spending time with kids my own age as a child, even when I started elementary school a year early. I found their interests and interactions to be too childish. This may have something to do with a possible loss of innocence following losing my mother to cancer when I was four years old. However, I found in her journal that she had kept during her last months that I expressed very little emotion towards her, my own mother. Evidently, there must have been something "off" prior to my loss of her.