Our partner

ADHD coping

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

ADHD coping

Postby Semi-Interesting » Mon May 21, 2018 1:54 pm

Hi
I'm quite new to this section of PsychForums, so hope this type of topic hasn't been posted recently; I don't want to rehash old stuff.
Anyways what coping strategies to those adhd'ers use to cope with daily life tasks and general living?
I've a couple to share which have mostly worked well for me.

1) If I have something really important I need to do. I will put a physical reminder in place eg if I need to buy car tax. I would put the car tax reminder on the stairs in the house, so I don't forget. Or I will leave a handwritten reminder on the kitchen floor, en route to the exit.

I generally find if helpful to keep things important close by where I can see them, or I make sure they are resting against me as reminders. Once I was in an airport waiting to catch a flight to go on holiday, I went to a restaurant/bar for something to eat with my partner and walked away leaving my bag. Luckily it wasn't stolen and I retrieved it ok. So now when I go out to a restaurant I keep the loop of my bag around my knee, So I cant walk away without my bag.

This method doesn't always work so well as recently I left a motorcycle crash helmet in a well known high street newsagents when I went in to buy a comic. I had to put the helmet to the side whilst paying with my card, and walked out the shop without it. By the time I realized 1.5hrs later they'd closed. Luckily my partner was able to drive out and give me an old spare helmet from the garage so I could ride home. This wasn't the first time I'd left my bike helmet behind in a shop