Our partner

PTSD from extended exposure to a stressful lifestyle

Acute Stress Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

PTSD from extended exposure to a stressful lifestyle

Postby GI Joe » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:12 am

Greetings ; I'm seeking assistance regarding a type of PTSD which is NOT from one experience but a prolonged lifestyle of high stress. I'm retired US military reserves and retired police officer from a major law enforcement agency in the US. I'm not a combat vet however have been in numerous military operations in hazardous areas around the world. I do have guilt from not participating in certain combat operations with my unit. As a police officer I encountered many hazardous situations and have dealt with many deaths and injuries. Thankfully I have not been wounded nor have I had to use deadly force. I have been present or arrived on the scene of various shootings and violent crimes. Also I drew my weapon on a nearly weekly basis where my finger was on the trigger and I was ready to fire on suspects. I believe in God and do pray. I am an alcoholic and struggle to stay sober. I don't drink daily but on occasion "binge drink." I refuse to go to the veterans administration, I distrust them. I would appreciate any assistance in this matter...
GI Joe
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Thu Dec 03, 2020 4:47 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: PTSD from extended exposure to a stressful lifestyle

Postby loise » Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:30 am

Hi! im just a member here, not an expert. But just the fact of joining the forum will help you find ways to help yourself. You are already half of the way...because you realize that the stress you have live in has been extreem and too long, so you need to look for a different rhythm. Find out what (not alcohol) gives you some peace, some presence, that lets your mind rest a bit. For example, cooking, or walking, or camping, everybody has a different answer.