Our partner

Eating roots

Trichotillomania message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Eating roots

Postby Hectique Prognosis » Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:42 pm

I thought I was going crazy, until I found this site. I had no idea this affliction had a name. I pull my hair and if the root gets pulled out, I eat it. I know thats pretty disgusting. I have absolutely no idea why I do this. I have been doing it for more than 25 years. When I cut my hair short, the urge to pull seems to go away temporarily. I REALLY want to know what causes this. I have briefly considered it was my body telling me it needed some nutrient from the root, to even thinking I was a masochist. I want to know the (lol) ROOT cause of why I am doing this. I want to cure myself, but I first want to to know why I do this and why it is happening. I cant remember when I started, only that when I do, the urge overwhelms me to the point where I cant even think straight. I pretend I am doing it as a result of concentrating on some task, but the truth is that when I am doing it, my entire focus is on ripping out a strand and hoping the root comes with it. I then eat this root, not the hair. I know that what I am doing is not normal. I am not a nervous person, i was not abused as a child, and I need to know what causes this behaviour. If anyone can tell me, I would appreciate it
Hectique Prognosis
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:08 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Eating roots

Postby jasmin » Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:19 pm