Our partner

Mother of Schizophrenic Son Needs Advice

Schizophrenia message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Cheze2

Mother of Schizophrenic Son Needs Advice

Postby StressedMom » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:06 pm

This is my first time posting on a forum board for this reason. My son was diagnosed with PS, ODD and mild autism when he was 15 and he is now 19. The school system put him in a group home in order to get his meds and conditions under control. I was very happy with his progress even though there were serious bumps during that time. His home visits were good because I was not the "authority figure" in his life at that time plus the meds were doing their job. He has been off of his meds now for 8 months and was taking them sporadically before that.

My problem is I want him to get back on the meds and he's refusing. At least once a week we have a huge blowout because there are certain rules that I would like followed in the home. A big one is knock on the door before entering a room. This is what caused our blowout this morning. He didn't knock and I was changing, pretty much fully naked, all because he wanted a cigarette and he couldn't understand why I was upset that he didn't knock. I ask him to do his own dishes or take out the garbage, but this is never done. All he wants to do is sit on his computer and play video games. He basically has no life that is not online and fantasy.