Our partner

Professions for Schizoids

Schizoid Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: WichitaLineman, IceBlock

Professions for Schizoids

Postby indifference » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:34 pm

I was just thinking, what professions do we have that allow us to keep a safe distance from others. Or do you work somewhere where people are always in your space, if so how do you handle it?

I'm a network/system engineer. I normally have a few customers that I manage their networks etc. I work alone for the most part and customers call me when it gets broke. I don't get hassle and my customers seem to like my no BS approach, I.e tell me the problem and get off the phone.

My bosses have always found me quirky and the way I interact with people cold but amusing, basically they couldn't understand why questions got short answers (don't do chit chat) and that I dismissed people from my desk when they had the info they needed. I even went to the effort to explain to some colleagues my issues with personal space, just so they didn't "feel" rejected when I told them to leave my area. Some people took offensive to it and wanted to talk to me about it... What's that about?

Office talk too was a big problem so I got a desk away from people and listened to my iPod when I didn't have to be on the phone. Now I rarely listen to music, I find it just noise, even watching tv seems to frustrate me of late.
Dx: Schizotypal Personality Disorder with ASPD traits

Rx: Abilify 30mg, Escitalopram, Lorazepam, Alprastad

“Schizoid behavior is a pretty common thing in children. It's accepted, because all we adults have this unspoken agreement that children are lunatics.”
― Stephen King
indifference
Consumer 5
Consumer 5

Local time: Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:30 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Professions for Schizoids

Postby EtherealStarlight » Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:49 am