Our partner

Need help ending an emotionally manipulative relationship.

Open Discussions about Relationship Issues.

Moderators: masquerade, orion13213, xdude

Need help ending an emotionally manipulative relationship.

Postby brandgirl » Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:01 pm

This is my first time posting here, but I am desperately seeking help from people with experience in my situation. I believe I am in a relationship with an "emotional manipulator." I wasn't able to put a name to it until I did some extensive research and I was finally able to make some connections. The man I am with meets so many of the criteria of an emotional manipulator and I've reached a breaking point where I think it's finally time to end the relationship.

What I specifically need help with is 1) help in deciding if he truly is emotionally manipulating me or if I am just untrusting and 2) help in ending this relationship.

Let me provide some groundwork:

We started dating (after having been friends for several years) about 2 1/2 years ago. We were both going through a divorce and realized we really had a lot in common. Already having established the friendship foundation over the years, we quickly fell in love. We both fell HARD and FAST, convinced we were soulmates and everything was perfect and wonderful. We felt we'd truly found what we'd both been lacking all our lives. This man made me feel like a princess. He would do anything for me and I'd never felt so loved, respected, appreciated or perfect.