Our partner

Severe Anxiety, Depression and Intrusive thoughts

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Otter

Severe Anxiety, Depression and Intrusive thoughts

Postby Ole » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:34 pm

The last 3 months has been an emotional rollercoaster. I guess I'll start with a quick round-up of it all. I started drawing back from society a few years ago, due to social anxiety and computer addiction, so to speak. Everything went smoothly, I didn't suffer from any anxiety, depression nor depersonalization.

Until 3 months ago. In relations to some psych education, we saw a movie about a schizophrenic person. I immediately started having anxiety, the next few weeks during Christmas. They were daily, and I couldn't stop thinking about it.

Then came January. Intrusive thoughts appeared, I developed a new fear of everything mental illnesses/health, specifically becoming a serial killer (I tremble, just writing those two words) or psychopath. This went on with really brutal intrusive thoughts of hurting other people. This caused me great anxiety and depression.

Fast forward, to now. The anxiety has not gotten better, and I've started having suicidal thoughts (non-intrusive) along with an even worse fear of everything '90s (see: '90s thriller films), murderers and so on. Every time a word related to death, murder or mental health, my anxiety sparks. I've also become way more depressed. Looking back at the last 3 months, I start to think that I'm actually going insane and turning into a Jeffrey Dahmer.

I have tried to help myself by accepting the thoughts and comforting myself, that the fact that I fear those uncontrollable thoughts is the reason I'm not a psychopath.

I'm going to see the doctor's on Monday (for the first time), and see what I can do there. I really have a need for a diagnosis, or knowledge on what the heck I suffer from, whether it be OCD or GAD.