Our partner

Can head injuries cause OCD?

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Otter

Can head injuries cause OCD?

Postby Sunnyrains » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:27 pm

Hello internet. I am a freshman in college, and have been dealing with obsessive-compulsive-like symptoms for years. It feels like they have become more apparent in my daily life and thoughts as time has gone on. I have not sought counseling or an official diagnosis yet for many reasons, but I know what it is. I also remember not feeling this way before I was ten or eleven. If that really is the case, then I wonder if this could have been caused by an accident I had falling down the stairs at my aunt's house that involved my head and a support beam to the house near the bottom of the basement stairs. Ever since that incident I have felt a sort of fuzziness or some other kind of sensation in my head above my eyes. It is almost like a very mild headache where a feeling is there, but no pain. I would love to hear any thoughts on the matter that you have to offer.
Sunnyrains
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:57 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Can head injuries cause OCD?

Postby Evol222 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:45 am

Hi Sunnyrains!

Did you see a doctor after your accident? You might very well have OCD; it wouldn't surprise me to hear a head injury-or any life threatening injury-could cause OCD.
However, I would encourage you to see a doctor/neurologist about your headaches to be sure you're okay physically.

*hugs* and well wishes,

Evol
Evol222
Moderator: Consumer

Local time: Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:57 am

Postby Sunnyrains » Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:29 pm